I didn’t vote for this

I didn’t vote for this

Steven Clark

Why do you talk of building when you only tear things down?
When did protecting something mean you raze it to the ground?
What’s democracy when only rich boys pass the orders round?
I didn’t vote for this.

I didn’t vote for this
I did not sign my name
I will not cheer you on
I will not play your game
I didn’t vote for this
I didn’t vote for this
I didn’t vote for this
I didn’t vote for this

Not for greedy opportunists,and their shameless old school tie
Not the empty word and policy with which you mask your lie
Not for turning all you touch into a thing that we must buy.
I didn’t vote for this,

I didn’t vote for this
I did not sign my name
I will not cheer you on
I will not play your game
I didn’t vote for this
I didn’t vote for this
I didn’t vote for this
I didn’t vote for this

You talk about austerity and how we share the pain
You tell us all to grit our teeth and wield the knife again
You laugh and pish right down our back and tell us it’s the rain
I didn’t vote for this

I didn’t vote for this
I did not sign my name
I will not cheer you on
I will not play your game
I didn’t vote for this
I didn’t vote for this
I didn’t vote for this
I didn’t vote for this

Don’t wait for them to stop, for you will never see the day
What your parents stood for, fought for, will be stripped and torn away
Stand up and stand together, lift up your voice and say:

I didn’t vote for this
I did not sign my name
I will not cheer you on
I will not play your game
I didn’t vote for this
I didn’t vote for this
I didn’t vote for this
I didn’t vote for this

Leave a Reply

